top of page

Maracaz, Burlington

Price - $$

Food - **

Atmosphere - **

This past weekend we surprised my grandpa with a birthday celebration at Maracaz in Burlington. Located above Curdz Poutinerie, Maracaz is a quaint and festive taco joint with an easy going atmosphere. A pile of classic board games in one corner, a tower of various hot sauces, tables made from pallets, & a disco ball, mixed with Mexican decor it's a great place to grab a beer and a taco and hang out with friends. The drawback to the location is a large staircase that you have to climb to get to the restaurant and back down an extra set of stairs to the basement if you need to use the washroom or atm. We had a fairly large group and took up about a third of the restaurant, our waiter was very accommodating and made sure we had everything we needed.....He even turned on the disco ball while we sang Happy Birthday! We started off with pitchers of Margaritas and Beer for the table, Tequila is not my thing so I can't comment on the margaritas! Next we moved on to complementary nachos and salsa and ordered baked nachos which were loaded with toppings, a great starter. My husband and I split 3 tacos, a Taenchiloso, & 2 Taco Guapos. Of course being the picky eater I am, I ordered my Taco Guapo with no cabbage. Taco Guapo is a pulled pork taco with smokey bbq sauce, sour cream & green onion (& cabbage). The flavours were great together but I feel the double layer shell was a bit too doughy for me. We had a great time in a great atmosphere with great service!

Taco Tuesdays offers 3 tacos for $10, can't go wrong with that price!

https://www.facebook.com/MaracazTnT/

bottom of page