top of page

Mattson & Co.

Price $$$$/$$$$$

Atmosphere ***

Food

***

I chose to try out Mattson & Co. on Locke St with a few friends for my birthday celebration. A fine dining experience in a comfortable & relaxed setting. The dining room has a very elegant and crisp look while staying modern and comfortable.

I started the evening with "A Love Supreme" martini, the perfect "girly" drink to start the celebration! We didn't order any appetizers but there was a variety from Bruschetta Caprese to Muscovy Duck Wings to a few seafood options. For my meal I ordered the Beef Tenderloin feature for the night. A 7oz cut over a bed of mushroom risotto & grilled vegetables topped with 3 crispy onion rings. The tenderloin was cooked to perfection, smooth tasting and just the right amount of seasoning. The risotto was fantastic, I'm a carb girl and ate it all up! I even ate my vegetables which is a rare occurrence! I'm not sure the onion rings were necessary as I was full from the rest but it added a playful touch! Being the most expensive meal on the menu it was well worth every bite!

I have to give honourable mentions to the Lasagna & the Short Rib & Potato Soup. Although I didn't try them my friend said both were delicious!

The other girls ordered the Alaskan Halibut & the Gnocchi feature. Both were not as they expected but the presentation looked

good!

I was given a free birthday dessert, an apple crumble topped with hazelnuts. Because of my allergies I actually didn't try it but I did try the Deep Fried Cheesecake. A warm crispy coating surrounding a smooth velvety middle served with a strawberry compote.....That's my kind of dessert! Again, honourable mention to the Nutella Tiramisu as I hear it was fantastic.

Overall we enjoyed a good meal, in a nice atmosphere, with great company! The staff were friendly and went above and beyond. I would recommend Mattson & Co. if you're looking for a nice evening out with family or friends! Reservations recommended.

http://mattsonandco.ca/

bottom of page